> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://docs.the-cloud-storage-guide.io/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://docs.the-cloud-storage-guide.io/cloud-storage-platforms/box-overview/storage-and-sharing/shared-folders.md).

# Shared Folders

Once the owning user shares a folder with at least one other user, it becomes a shared folder, designated by the icon of two people and a color change. The owner of the folder has full control and can set other co-owners with equal control.&#x20;

Admins can override any sharing settings in the Admin Console and modify settings for specific folders in the Content tab.&#x20;

### Sharing roles

When uploading a folder, there are several different roles that can be given to users depending on the permission they need.&#x20;

<table><thead><tr><th width="198">Role</th><th width="92" data-type="checkbox">Preview</th><th width="117" data-type="checkbox">Download</th><th width="89" data-type="checkbox">Upload</th><th width="96" data-type="checkbox">Get Link</th><th width="67" data-type="checkbox">Edit</th><th data-type="checkbox">Delete</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>Co-owner</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td></tr><tr><td>Editor</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td></tr><tr><td>Viewer Uploader</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>false</td></tr><tr><td>Previewer Uploader</td><td>true</td><td>false</td><td>true</td><td>false</td><td>false</td><td>false</td></tr><tr><td>Viewer</td><td>true</td><td>true</td><td>false</td><td>true</td><td>false</td><td>false</td></tr><tr><td>Previewer</td><td>true</td><td>false</td><td>false</td><td>false</td><td>false</td><td>false</td></tr><tr><td>Uploader</td><td>false</td><td>false</td><td>true</td><td>false</td><td>false</td><td>false</td></tr></tbody></table>

### Shared Links

One method of sharing folders is to generate a shared link. When generating a shared link, the user will be prompted to set link settings for permissions. The shared link can be restricted to invited people only, people in the company, or anyone with the link, with options for viewing, viewing and downloading, or editing.&#x20;
